top of page

Jules Lesouef
Sculptures, from December 3 to January 8, 2023

Jules is a young artist who divides his time between his studio which is located in the 17th arrondissement of Paris (Ateliers de la Brunetière), the studio of the animal sculptor Capri where he continues his apprenticeship, as well as his part-time work at the Happy coffee.

 

Fascinated since childhood by the world of wild animals, Jules has been observing and drawing them since the age of 3. As a teenager, he turned to modeling thanks to an apprenticeship with sculptors who transmitted to him the techniques of this art.

He develops a particular sensitivity to reproduce animals in unique postures that give them an expressive and emotional attitude.

Elephant, crocodile, bear, rhinoceros, hippopotamus, whale, monkey, panther, shark, lizard, snake… animals from different universes but which all have one thing in common: wildlife.

The work of the subject is meticulous, modeled in the smallest details, scales, striations of the skin, reliefs, patterns enhanced for some by an enamel bath whose cooking brings a shine which contributes to the realism of the animal. Some are simply baked and then waxed, they remain monochrome, sober and elegant off-white. Others will be molded and then destined for a series of bronze copies whose patina produces a tactile effect inviting the viewer to come and touch them.

flyer de l'exposition
flyer de l'exposition
Portrait de Jules Lesouëf dans son atelier
bottom of page

top of page

Jules Lesouëf
Sculptures, du 3 décembre au 8 janvier 2023

Jules est un jeune artiste qui partage son temps entre son atelier qui se situe dans le 17ème arrondissement de Paris (Ateliers de la Brunetière), l’atelier de la sculptrice animalière Capri où il poursuit son apprentissage, ainsi que son travail à temps partiel au café Joyeux.

 

Passionné depuis l’enfance par l’univers des animaux sauvages, Jules les observe et les dessine depuis l’âge de 3 ans. A l’adolescence il s’oriente vers le modelage grâce à un apprentissage auprès de sculpteurs qui lui transmettent les techniques de cet art.

Il développe une sensibilité particulière à reproduire les animaux dans des postures singulières qui leur confèrent une attitude expressive et pleine d’émotion.

Eléphant, crocodile, ours, rhinocéros, hippopotame, baleine, singe, panthère, requin, lézard, serpent… des animaux issus d’univers différents mais qui ont tous un point commun : la vie sauvage.

Le travail du sujet est minutieux, modelé dans les moindres détails, écailles, striures de la peau, reliefs, motifs rehaussés pour certains par un bain d’email dont la cuisson apporte une brillance qui contribue au réalisme de l’animal. Certains sont simplement cuits puis cirés, ils restent monochromes, blanc cassé sobre et élégant. D’autres seront moulées puis destinées à une série exemplaires en bronze dont la patine produit un effet tactile invitant le spectateur à venir les toucher.

flyer de l'exposition
flyer de l'exposition
Portrait de Jules Lesouëf dans son atelier
bottom of page